Chinese University of Hong Kong

The Chinese University of Hong Kong is a leading university and it successfully combines tradition and modernity together. It has a lush green 134 hectare campus and it overlooks the beautiful Tolo harbor just north of Shatin.CUHK has 61 departments in eight faculties – Arts, Business Administration, Education, Engineering, Law, Medicine, Science and Social Sciences. The first graduate program was launched in 1965. The first doctoral program was introduced by the University in 1980.

Presently CUHK offers 117 undergraduate programs and 247 postgraduate programs. The total student enrolment is around 20,300 and 51% of them are undergraduate students.

The Chinese University has a long multicultural tradition. The teaching staff hails from all part of the world. There are as many as 22 research units of CUHK. The University has established formal links with a number of universities and institutes worldwide.

Every year academic changes and conferences are held at the university. The CUHK makes a genuine effort to churn out to class graduates that will help of the development of Hong Kong or their native country.


Almost half of the students at CUHK reside in the 23 hostels of the four colleges – Chung Chi, New Asia, United and Shaw.


The University offers Full time programs in Educational Administration, Government and Public Administration, Anthropology, Architecture, Accountancy, Data Science and Business Statistics, Finance, Management, Advertising and Public Relations, Broadcasting, Communication Studies, Creative Media, Journalism, Marketing, Multimedia and Telecommunications Information Technology, Performing Arts, Economics, Training, Electrical Engineering, Environmental Studies, Gender studies, General Engineering, Geography, Para-Medical studies, Archaeology.


Funding is offered to students demonstrating excellent academic performance with a dedication to enter the world of teaching.

The university mainly originated from three colleges – New Asia College, Chung Chi College and United College. In 1963 the three colleges came together to form the Chinese University of Hong Kong. A fourth college, Shaw College, was established in 1986.

Now four more colleges have joined the CUHK family. These colleges are – Morningside College, S.H.Ho College, C.W.Chu college and Wu Yee yes Chan college.  The Chinese University of Hong Kong has earned a great deal of reputation and is one of the respected universities world wide.