Studying at the Edith Cowan University

The Edith Cowan University is the second largest university in Western Australia. It is the only university in Australia which is named after a woman (Edith Dircksey Cowan).

The Edith Cowan University was established in 1991. The university has the motto – ‘Freedom through knowledge’. It is a public university. The university has an endowment of 630.9 million Australian dollars.

The chancellor of the Edith Cowan University is Hendy Cowan. The vice chancellor of the university is Kerry O. Cox. The university has a total faculty strength of about 1,868. The Edith Cowan University has about 15,878 undergraduate and about 5,305 graduate students. It is a premier institution in Australia (having its roots in the amalgamations of teacher’s colleges whose history goes way back to 1902, thereby making

Edith Cowan University the modern representation of the oldest university in Western Australia) with a number of international applicants applying every year. Many countries are represented on campus by the students coming from those countries to study at the Edith Cowan University. The university is affiliated to the Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL).

The main campuses of the university are located in Perth. These campuses (the metropolitan campuses) are located at Joondalup and Mount Lawley (which are suburbs of Perth). There is a regional campus located at Bunbury, which is quite a distance away from Perth (about 180 km from Perth).

The main faculties at the Edith Cowan university are the Faculty of Business and Law, Faculty of Computing, Health and Science, Faculty of Education and Arts and Faculty of Regional Professional Studies. The Faculty of Business and Law houses the School of Accounting, School of Finance and Economics, School of Management, School of Law and Justice and the School of Marketing, Tourism and Leisure. The Faculty of Computing, Health and Science has the School of Exercise, Biomedical and Health Sciences, School of Engineering, School of Natural Sciences, School of Nursing, Midwifery and Postgraduate Medicine, School of Psychology and Social Science and School of Computing and Information Science. The Faculty of Education and Arts has the School of Education, Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts, School of Indigenous Australian Studies and School of Communication and Arts. The Faculty of Regional Professional Studies has the School of Regional Professional Studies.

Degrees at all levels – Bachelors, Masters and Doctoral are offered at the Edith Cowan University. The university is the only one in Western Australia to offer degrees and diplomas in flying and aviation (leading to commercial pilot license). The Faculty of Business and Law of the university was rated at number 10 in Australia by World University Rankings in 2009.


I am Deepanjan Datta doing electrical engineering from the National Institute of Technology (NIT) Durgapur, India. I love to write, and develop software programs.