Studying at the National University of Singapore (NUS)

Singapore has emerged as a modern commercial, trade and activity hub of the world. In this, we must not forget that it is a buzzing education hub as well. The universities in Singapore are not only varied in their courses, but also have the advantage of having less tuition and other costs.

Their location being in one of the prime developed countries of the world, they have an advantage from that point of view as well. In this article, we will look at one of the most prominent universities in Singapore, the National University of Singapore (NUS)
The university came into being when the University of Singapore and The Nanyang University merged. This was in 1980. However, this merger was not without problems. It was primarily done to promote English as the only language in Singapore.

The merger was voraciously protested against by the alumni of the Nanyang University and the Chinese community in Singapore. However, setting the problems aside, the National University of Singapore has emerged as one of the most elite universities in the world.

Course system at the NUS:
The NUS incorporates features of both the British as well as the American education system. The British features include the system of tutorials while the American features include credit points.
The NUS offers 27 undergraduate and 115 masters, graduate diplomas and doctoral degrees. The degrees are provided by 13 faculties (schools).
Faculties and schools:

  • Arts and social sciences:

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS) is one of the largest schools at the university. It has 15 departments and programs. FASS also has a Centre for Language Studies. The programs at FASS are mainly under three categories – Asian studies, Humanities, Social sciences. It also offers a Double Degree Program (DDP).

  • Business school:

The business school has 6 departments. These are – Accounting, Business Policy, Decision Sciences, Finance, Management and Organization, and Marketing. The degrees offered are Bachelors of Business Administration (BBA) and Bachelor of Business Administration (Accountancy) [BBA(Acc)].

  • Computing:

The School of Computing offers undergraduate degrees (based on computer science) in four disciplines – Biology, Information Systems, Computer Science and Digital Media. The school was established in 1998.

  • Engineering:

The Faculty of Engineering (FOE) is the largest school in the university. It offers Bachelor of Engineering (BE), Bachelor of Technology (B. Tech), Master of Engineering, Master of Science, Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Bioengineering, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Engineering Science Programme, Environmental Science & Engineering, Industrial & Systems Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and division of Engineering and Technology Management.

Apart from these schools, the NUS also has many research facilities which are at par with global standards. Some of these are in the areas of bioengineering, cyber art, grid innovation (Grid Innovation Zone), Proton Beam writer etc.

The NUS was ranked in the group of 101-150 best universities in the world by the Academic Ranking of World Universities for the year 2008.


I am Deepanjan Datta doing electrical engineering from the National Institute of Technology (NIT) Durgapur, India. I love to write, and develop software programs.