Studying at the University of Auckland, New Zealand

The University of Auckland is the highest ranked university in whole of New Zealand. It is also the largest university in the country. It is an inherently cosmopolitan university with its students, teachers and staff coming from all over the world.

The University of Auckland was ranked as the top most university in New Zealand by the THES-QS World University Rankings. The University of Auckland is a public university. It was established in 1883. The university had 38,502 students in 2007, of whom 9,008 were graduate students. The University of Auckland has the motto – ‘By natural ability and hard work’.

The university has a lush yet modern 16 hectare campus in Auckland, New Zealand and is affiliated to the Association of MBAs (AMBA), the European Quality Improvement System  (EQUIS), the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), Association of Pacific Rim Universities  (APRU) and Universitas 21. The chancellor of the University of Auckland is Roger France and its vice-chancellor is Stuart McCutcheon.

The admission to the University of Auckland is competitive because of the large number of applications every year, especially from international students. The university stopped giving unrestricted entry in 2009. Now, everyone wishing to study at the University of Auckland must possess a minimum university entrance qualification. This qualification varies from country to country and the entire list is available at the international students page on University of Auckland’s website.

The entry requirements vary from course to course, but the general requirement for entry into a post graduate course is a recognized Bachelor’s degree from an accredited university. Also, for students whose medium of instruction at the undergraduate level was not English, a test score proving English proficiency is a must. Apart from these general requirements, different departments (faculties) and courses may have specific requirements as well.

The University of Auckland has 7 campuses, all in and around Auckland. These are:

* City Campus
* Tamaki Campus
* Grafton Campus
* Epsom Campus
* Tai Tokerau Campus
* Leigh Marine Laboratory (Marine Campus)
* Manukau Campus

The University of Auckland has many schools and faculties of prominence. Some of these are – Faculty of Arts, School of Business and Economics, Faculty of Education, National Institute of Creative Arts and Industries, Faculty of Medical and Health Sciences, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Engineering, Faculty of Science and School of Theology. The university also has two research institutes – the Liggins Institute and the Auckland Bioengineering Institute (ABI).

The University of Auckland was ranked at number one in New Zealand by the THES-QS World University Rankings, as already mentioned. It was also ranked at number 50 in the world in 2007 and at number 61 in 2009. It has consistently been among the top 100 universities in the world and this speaks of the quality of the university.


I am Deepanjan Datta doing electrical engineering from the National Institute of Technology (NIT) Durgapur, India. I love to write, and develop software programs.