Studying at the Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

The Victoria University of Wellington is a public university located in Wellington, New Zealand. The university was established in 1897 and was a former member of the University of New Zealand.

Although the Victoria University of New Zealand offers a wide variety of courses in a wide range of subjects, the courses it offers in law and humanities, along with some in the science discipline, are particularly famous all over the world.

In the 2006 Performance Based Research Fund (conducted by the New Zealand government), Victoria University of Wellington came out at number 4 on the list. It was, however, at number 3 position on the same list in 2003. In 2008, the Victoria University of Wellington had a total of 21,380 students, of whom 4,200 were graduate students. The chancellor of the Victoria University of Wellington is Ian McKinnon and its vice-chancellor is Pat Walsh.

The Victoria University of Wellington has four main campuses. The prominent one, situated in Kelburn, houses the humanities and social sciences and the science departments. The Pipitea campus houses the law and commerce departments (faculties). The architecture and design school is located on the Te Aro campus. The faculty of education is located on the Karori campus. At the Victoria University of Wellington, the entry into the first year courses for most subjects is unrestricted (especially for New Zealand residents, but this applies to international students too).

However, for second year courses, the entry is based on selection. Some of the degrees which use selection for entry into second year courses are LLB, B. Arch, B.Des etc. Also worthy of mention is the fact that the Victoria University of Wellington is one of the three universities in New Zealand to offer a degree in architecture (the other two universities being the University of Auckland and Unitec New Zealand).

The Victoria University of Wellington has 7 (seven) main faculties. These are:

  • Faculty of education
  • Faculty of architecture and design
  • Faculty of commerce and administration
  • Faculty of law
  • Faculty of science
  • Faculty of engineering
  • Faculty of humanities and social sciences

The Victoria University of Wellington has a large number of schools and institutes. Some of these are:

  • School of Accounting and Commercial Law
  • Graduate School of Nursing, Midwifery and Health
  • School of Architecture
  • School of Economics and Finance
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Design
  • School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
  • School of Government
  • School of English, Film, Theater and Media Studies
  • School of Information Management
  • School of Law
  • School of Mathematics, Statistics and Operations Research
  • School of Social and Cultural Studies
  • International Institute of Modern Letters
  • Center for Continuing Education and Executive Development
  • Stout Research Center for New Zealand Studies

The Victoria University of Wellington has a huge library as well, which is a prominent part of the university. The library (Victoria University of Wellington Library) was established in 1899. The library currently houses about 1.3 million printed volumes and about 200,00 e-books.



I am Deepanjan Datta doing electrical engineering from the National Institute of Technology (NIT) Durgapur, India. I love to write, and develop software programs.